Tourism Without Boundaries

Peace Parks Foundation. A secretariat was appointed to steer the KAZA TFCA’s development.

Developments of this scale require enormous investment, too great to be funded by the partner countries alone. In June 2010 the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) through KfW committed $27.6 million for KAZA TFCA’s development. Peace Parks Foundation was appointed as implementing agent by the partner countries, to provide financial management and technical and co-financing support to the KAZA secretariat. The Netherlands Directorate-General for International Cooperation supported various projects to the amount of $690 000. 

On 18 August 2011 the presidents of the republics of Angola, Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe signed a treaty that formally and legally established the Kavango Zambezi TFCA.

The KAZA TFCA was officially launched on 15 March 2012 when the ministers responsible for the environment, wildlife, natural resources, hotels and tourism of the five partner countries hosted various stakeholders in the town of Katima Mulilo, Namibia, and unveiled the KAZA TFCA treaty.

On 8 March 2013, State Secretary Hans-Jürgen Beerfeltz of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) handed a cheque for the amount of $21.3 million to the SADC Deputy Executive Secretary, Mr João Caholo and the government ministers of the five countries partnering in the KAZA TFCA. This is in addition to the $27.6 million previously donated.

  • KfW – KfW Development Bank
  • German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development
  • Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmbH (GIZ) was commissioned by BMZ to implement the project ‘Transboundary use and protection of natural resources in the SADC region’. 
  • The World Bank has funded development of a financial sustainability strategy for the KAZA TFCA and a strategy to to harmonise existing policies and legal frameworks.
  • Netherlands Directorate-General of Development Cooperation (DGIS)
  • Dutch Postcode Lottery
  • Swedish Postcode Lottery